top of page

Three most hilarious Instacart mini-stories

Updated: Sep 3, 2020

I've ordered instacart three times now since my very first instacart post, and I've procrastinated sitting down and actually blogging about it for a looooong while.


So instead, you get a highlight of the three most hilarious instacart mini-stories.


🍅 a mishap for a tomato hater



I hate tomatoes,

but as a scientist-in-training,

I am also MADE of curiousity,


so every 2 months or so

I will buy and eat tomatoes in a new form

just to see if a New Way Of Preparation

will allow me to enjoy tomatoes.


So far, I enjoy:

  • pasta sauce

  • tomato and egg

  • curries made with majority diced tomato base


I do not enjoy in the slightest:

  • raw tomatoes, eaten whole

  • this includes grape tomatoes

So I ordered two (2) cans of diced tomatoes

from a the Wholesale Club

(which is like Loblaws owned Costco).


And boy

please,

learn from my mistakes here,,,


please CHECK SIZING IF YOU ARE

TO BUY

FROM A WHOLESALE GROCERY


I have two (2) x 3L of diced tomatoes

Which totals six (6) Litres

SIX GODDAMN LITRES of tomatoes


I do not want to see a goddamn tomato in my life again this is Cursed


 

🥛 bagged milk



I'm lactose intolerant.


Which means I consume about

1L of milk per month

kind of as a rebellion against my genes.


In Ontario, 1L of milk comes in cartons.

I ordered 1L of milk.


Because I went from drinking milk daily in my childhood and early 20s

to one day at the ripe old age of 23 years,

suddenly lactose intolerant,

My budget went from $6 for milk in bulk

to $6 for 1L of fancy organic delicious tasting milk.


I reasoned,

if I am to suffer the consequences

I might as well go for the best,

most delicious milk experience.


In Ontario, 3L of milk is packaged in bags of 1L each.

As someone who only drinks 1L of milk

which comes in cartons,

I do not own a contraption (a milk jug) for holding bagged milk.

I did not buy a milk jug when I moved to live alone because

as the Chinese saying goes

it would be like a bald man a comb.

It would be a tragic reminder of

a life that was.


So when my personal shopper

couldn't find my $6 fancy milk at the store

and swapped it for 3L of cheap milk,

I WAS NOT PREPARED.


LIKE, I'M NOT MAD ABOUT HAVING 3L

OF MILK

because now I am always in the comfort of my home

should, uh, side effects emerge,,,

BUT HOW

AM

I

SUPPOSED

TO

STORE

SQUIRMY

SQUISHY

BAGS

OF

MILK

ONCE

OPENED

?!?!?!?!?!?!?1


This is where my frugal life skills come in.

I firmly believe that

being cheap is the source of all my creativity.


I hoard glass jars because I use them

to store meal prep ingredients,

grow green onions/ other scraps, etc.


So I was able to just

pour each 1L bag of milk into

2 regular sized ragu jars and

1 tostito salsa dip jar


so I'm really hoping is that

the milk won't come out tasting like ragu and/or salsa.


only time will tell.

stay tuned.




 


🔃 the ultimate substitution



so I ordered one (1) box of 24 instant noodles


Now look,

before you judge me for hoarding

or stockpiling

please consider that

before the pandemic began

I already lived like this.


Which,

actually, I realize now, is an even worse thing to admit 😅


BUT, the story is,

I selected one (1) box of 24 instant noodles,

and the guy couldn't find the exact flavour that I had selected

and HERE IS THE BEST LOGIC 👇


he bought me one (1) single bowl noodle.

one.

just one.

not even a package noodle, but a small bowl noodle.


just one

(1)

.


.


.


.


.


So I ate that one (1) bowl noodle one day

and after I finished it

I wasn't even full,

I saved the soup

and dumped some leftover rice in it

and gobbled up that

sweet savoury spicy msg


and accepted that one day

I will regret my unhealthy life choices

but that specific day,

was not the day.



 

I'm making it a mission to blog more

because this is really fun!


I hope I can come back to these memories years later

and laugh over the dumb moments (like this dream about my ikea Tupperware),


If you want to hop on this weird life journey with me,

don't forget to subscribe below! 👇

bottom of page